RPG a Day – Day 11: Weirdest RPG Owned

Getting a little more up to date, Day 11 of #RPGaDAY.

11. Weirdest RPG Owned.

So, I struggled with this one for quite a while.  I’ve got quite a few interesting RPGs, but most of them aren’t that strange.  In Nomine is odd, and certainly has some system issues, but isn’t all that out there.  Gamma World is a hodge-podge of wacky post-apocalyptic strangeness, but is enough of a corner stone of RPG history to not seem that unusual now.  But then it stuck me – why not talk about a game I picked up from the founder of RPG a Day when he was clearing out his house?

A sizeable “coffee table” format book, the Metabarons Roleplaying Game is based on the Incal French mystic space opera comics series created by Alexandro Jodorowsky.  I’ve only read the first collected volume of these, but they’re really quite strange, featuring psychedelic imagery, unusual psychic powers, and a spaceship that the pilot flies by plugging his crotch into it…

To be honest, I don’t think I can really do the setting justice by trying to describe it, and I’d encourage my readers to track down the comics to experience it first hand (or at least read up about them on Wikipedia).  The book itself is beautifully produced, in a large hardback format that’s full colour inside and out and filled with illustrations from the comics.

The rules are based on the West End Games D6 system, better known from their Star Wars RPG, and they don’t seem like an immediate fit.  However, the game itself is more about playing the common folk of the setting rather than godlike psionics like the Metabaron himself, so it doesn’t struggle quite as much with scope as it otherwise might.

It’s a strange setting, a slightly mismatched set of mechanics, and something I doubt I’ll ever play or try to run, but it’s still a game I’m very glad I own.  It’s a beautiful oddity among my RPG collection, and one that sits proudly alongside the rest of my books.

2 thoughts on “RPG a Day – Day 11: Weirdest RPG Owned

Leave a Reply

