RPG a Day – Day 22: Best Secondhand RPG Purchase

Day 22 of RPG a day.  Due to my birthday weekend, I’m running somewhat behind, so the next few posts are going to be (hopefully) a little shorter and punchier.

Best Secondhand RPG Purchase

So, this is a trickier category than it would have been a few years ago.  I’ve gone from buying most of my RPGs new to more than half of my RPG purchases being second hand.  I think this is in part due to me finally cottoning on to the idea that I’ve now got the disposable income to pick up some of those games I thought looked super cool when I was a teenager but was unable to afford.

Alternity

This is going to be the third time that Alternity has cropped up during this month (see also Day 14 and Day 15), so clearly it’s a game that’s left an impression on me.  At least some of this is nostalgia, as while the system is perfectly usable, it’s not particularly ground-breaking now a days.  But at the time I first encountered it in the late 90s, it seemed like a real breath of fresh air when compared to D&D 2nd Edition (which was basically the only thing I was playing at the time).

Alternity is a generic sci-fi RPG, designed to handle a wide range of settings (the published settings were high space opera, X-Files style paranormal investigation and Gamma World).  I suspect it’s generic nature may have made it a little hard to sell, and the game was discontinued in 2000 as part of Wizards of the Coast rationalising TSR’s holdings.

I managed to pick up the core rulebooks on Amazon for a very reasonable price a few years ago, and I’m happy to have them in my collection.  It’s a game I’d love to run at some point, if only for the sake of nostalgia…

 

Orpheus

An interesting focused slice of the classic World of Darkness, Orpheus covers the not often trodden ground of corporate mediumship, astral projection and employment after death.  Touching on similar ground to Wraith: the Oblivion, Orpheus is a somewhat lower-key approach to the crossover between the living and the dead and without a doubt is a major foundation for Geist: the Sin-Eaters.

I’ve managed to collect all of the limited Orpheus line over time, but I’ve not yet had the chance to read it in much depth as yet.  It looks like a game line full of interesting ideas, and one I really should make time for!

 

Planescape

OK, so technically this isn’t a purchase, but rather a gift from friends for my birthday a few days ago.  Thanks to their generosity, I now own a copy of the Planescape boxed campaign setting in darn near mint condition.  It’s a beautiful, beautiful product, split neatly over four booklets, a DM’s screen and four double-sided posters.  And the art, oh the art…

Planescape just wouldn’t be Planescape without Tony DiTerlizzi’s illustrations.

Leave a Reply

